Protest against Mohammed Cartoons, Christian-Style

I’ve been having yet another interesting discussion with a teenager on my blog. (I might point out that she threatened me with the fact that she was a teenager. You’ll see what I said.)

She was complaining about the Jesus image I posted on last years’ Easter podcast. Here it is:

Whoops, wrong Jesus. I meant this:

This illustrates, in a humorous way, that Jesus and his story really was partly born out of the original easter story. The real “reason for the season,” as it were.

History of the Easter Bunny

 

Feeling guilty about arriving late one spring, the Goddess Ostara saved the life of a poor bird whose wings had been frozen by the snow. She made him her pet or, as some versions have it, her lover. Filled with compassion for him since he could no longer fly (in some versions, it was because she wished to amuse a group of young children), Ostara turned him into a snow hare and gave him the gift of being able to run with incredible speed so he could protect himself from hunters. In remembrance of his earlier form as a bird, she also gave him the ability to lay eggs (in all the colors of the rainbow, no less), but only on one day out of each year.

Eventually the hare managed to anger the goddess Ostara, and she cast him into the skies where he would remain as the constellation Lepus (The Hare) forever positioned under the feet of the constellation Orion (the Hunter). He was allowed to return to earth once each year, but only to give away his eggs to the children attending the Ostara festivals that were held each spring. The tradition of the Easter Bunny had begun.

The Hare was sacred in many ancient traditions and was associated with the moon goddesses and the various deities of the hunt. In ancient times eating the Hare was prohibited except at Beltane (Celts) and the festival of Ostara (Anglo-Saxons), when a ritual hare-hunt would take place.

Read the conversation here.

Yes, I am speaking to a kid. But nothing I said was anything I wouldn’t say to a kid’s face. I feel really bad for kids who are caught up in occult practices like christianity, and I feel bad that she has been taught by a society of fretful parents and an overbearing school system that it is “wrong” to mock beliefs. It isn’t wrong. It is essential, and I will continue to say it.

I don’t know if any kid will comprehend what I say. But I know that it has happened. Kids are not so stupid that they cannot stop and think about their beliefs, if they are right, and why they believe them. Even kids in believer families, like mine.

About alleee

Mondo Diablo is a, one-hour podcast, generally with a weekly theme, like movie soundtracks, vintage jazz, Scientology, Creationism, Fundamentalist Wisdom, Hippies, or whatever other topic I think I can tie to music. I play a broad range of music styles, from cocktail-lounge to bluegrass, to 60’s and 70’s, to styles that might better be left undescribed. Most podcasts see me popping in now and then with a few friends to remind you that I am, indeed, Hellbound Alleee, and I might read a few news stories to remind you of that. Fair warning: I will be making at least five Christmas-themed podcasts when the season comes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Protest against Mohammed Cartoons, Christian-Style

  1. Jimmy says:

    Actually, the earliest reference to eostre is in the eighth century. Jesus is attested to, most likely as early as the first, but surely the second. It’s rather silly to claim that Jesus’ story came out of eostres. Far more correct would be to argue that Christian priests and missionaries in pagan countries adopted their feasts to suit pagan customs and attract yet-to-be-Christianized pagans. If you want to claim that paganism inserted itself into Christianity there, then that’s all well and good. But to claim that Jesus’ story grew out of Eostre’s is quite false. Especially considering “Ostara” is an entirely speculative name, suggested by Jacob Grimm in the 19th century, and eostre mentioned only once (by a Christian, at that) in any ancient or medieval text.

    The girl was stupid, no doubt. But you might as well get your facts straight before you try to correct her. As even the Christians say “When the blind lead the blind…”

    (P.S. – Please don’t take this as an attack. I’m actually rather sympathetic to neopaganism. I just like things to be clear and factual. Thanks!)

  2. alleee says:

    OK, but the festival…which is the point here–The festival of “Easter” is not a Jesus died and rose from the dead festival, surely. Unless Easter, Ishtar, Ostare, Eostre means “Jesus H Christ,”

    I give you Eostre. I shouldn’t have hinted that Eostre was the “first.” (There’s lots of Spring Equinox goddesses, surely). However, there’s no reason to think that those stories did not evolve the same way, out of the same stories–which seem to be pretty self-”writing” or self-telling stories in the first place. Shit, rising from the dead’s the oldest fishtale out there.

  3. GreyFox says:

    That Rabbit doing what it does offends me…I don’t really like it and I don’t like the idea of an Easter Bunny…like Santa…Commercial rubbish..

    I am a Christian and so forgive you! I even love you ;o)

    Peace XxX

  4. I don’t want forgiveness and I do not care if anyone is offended. I do not forgive anyone for their Christian Depravity unless they recognize it. Listen. If you believe in a monster in the sky who metes out eternal torture as a Moral Good, you’re depraved, plain and simple, whether or not you are ignorant of the evolution of mythology and the fact that Bunnies came before Jesues.

    Bunnies are superior to Christs. They are soft, they are not predators, and they do not flaunt their suffering over those who obviously suffer more, as they are not Gods and cannot rise from the dead.

    Comments are over for this old post. If you wish, you may email me about it to make yourself feel better, but please understand, I did not paint this lovely picture. Someone else is the genius behind this thoughtful piece.

    Now, go listen to some “I want to have sex with Jesus but I’m not gay I swear” music.

Leave a Reply

