Mondo Diablo Episode 347: Kathleen Hanna Smells Like Teen Spirit

This week things get a little sentimental. Please bear with me while I get personal and tell one of my stories about my time with Kathleen Hanna. Also Kathleen tells her story about how she came up with the title “Smell’s Like Teen Spirit.”

Playlist

KHanna 1
Alleee 1
Bikini Kill with Joan Jett * Rebel Girl
Memphis Minnie * Me and my Chauffeur Blues
KHanna 2
Mylène Farmer * Sans Contrefaçon
Nirvana * Been a Son
KHanna 3
Patti Smith * Piss Factory
Rosemary Clooney * Come On-a My House
KHanna 4
Sonic Youth * Swimsuit Issue
Sophie Tucker * I Ain’t Takin’ Orders From No One!
KHanna 5
Kathleen Hanna and the Peaches * Dead End Justice
Bessie Smith * ‘Tain’t Nobody’s Business if I Do
KHanna 6
Julie Ruin * I Wanna Know What Love Is
Billie Holiday * Strange Fruit
KHanna 7
Le Tigre * Phanta
Loretta Lyn * The Pill
KHanna 8
Bratmobile * Cool Schmool
Brox Sisters * Red Hot Mama
KHanna 9
Lucile Bogan * Shave ‘em Dry
CONNIE, I LOVE YOU
Alleee 2

Download

Download from Soundcloud

About alleee

Mondo Diablo is a, one-hour podcast, generally with a weekly theme, like movie soundtracks, vintage jazz, Scientology, Creationism, Fundamentalist Wisdom, Hippies, or whatever other topic I think I can tie to music. I play a broad range of music styles, from cocktail-lounge to bluegrass, to 60’s and 70’s, to styles that might better be left undescribed. Most podcasts see me popping in now and then with a few friends to remind you that I am, indeed, Hellbound Alleee, and I might read a few news stories to remind you of that. Fair warning: I will be making at least five Christmas-themed podcasts when the season comes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mondo Diablo Episode 347: Kathleen Hanna Smells Like Teen Spirit

  1. Gary says:

    The link is bad!

  2. alleee says:

    Fixed–I hope.

Leave a Reply

