My Favorite Christmas Album of All Time: The Williams Brothers Christmas Album-NOW CLEANED UP!

Sorry for the CRAPPY picture. Weep.

Edit: I’d like to wish everyone who loved Andy, and all his family my best thoughts.

If you’re here for the Williams’ Brothers album, why not check out the rest of the blog, for hundreds of interesting and free podcasts? If you like the Williams Brothers album, you may like my Christmastime podcasts of interesting Christmas music you might not find anywhere else, plus some information you might not know, either!

My parents must have bought this gem sometime between 1968, when we moved to Wenatchee, and 1969, when we moved to our first real house. I imagine it may have been purchased from J. C. Penney, where we bought the Magnavox console, and most of our vinyl entertainment. Back then, hi-fis and stereos were still thought of as furniture, save for the eight-track thing that was happening.

This album always meant Christmas to me. It is ultimately singable. If one is so musically inclined, one can attempt the complex harmonies arranged by W.Earl Brown, as mentioned in the liner notes. I know ’em by heart. I can scarcely sing any of the traditional songs without thinking of these arrangements.

Two songs are closest to my heart. First, “To Santa Claus’ House We Go.” It’s fun, but not embarrassingly so (if you know what I mean). Then there’s “Sleep Well, Little Children.” It’s short, but to the point (and I’m typing this lyric by heart):

Sleep well, little children;
Pleasant dreams through the night.
Tomorrow is Christmas;
So Merry and Bright!
Soon, you’ll hear the bells ring,
Time for dreams to come true,
As the world waits to bring
Merry Christmas to you!

That little song captures everything I loved about Christmas, and still love. It both excited me and calmed me, if such a thing is possible. I hear the song and immediately smell that lovely artificial and extremely harsh smell of Christmas Pine Scent.

Finally, by the eighties, the song began my interest in making mixtapes–I had to have copies for my room once I managed to get a little tape recorder in there. Rewind, play, rewind, play, rewind…and sorta harsh out the record I share with you today. I’m so sorry about that. It’s very well loved. Perhaps you might want a copy from ebay, or Amazon, or some of the other record collecting sites out in interland.

Enjoy!
Download The Williams Brothers Christmas Album Zip file

70 Comments »

  1. 1
    Kathy Says:

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE this!!!!! It was always one of my favorites growing up, now my kids listen to it. Thank you so much for posting this!!!!!

  2. 2
    Mary Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I bought this record back when it first came out and I was a young adolescent with a HUGE crush on Andy Williams. I loved it then and played it all the time at Christmas–it came to mean Christmas to me too! Over the years, though, the album (along with all my other albums) was put away, my turntable died, and I kind of figured “that was that.” Then last year I saw a show on PBS that was a collection of clips from Andy Williams Christmas specials from years ago, and so many of the songs sung on that special were sung by the brothers. Hearing the voices again was so thrilling I determined to apply myself to obtaining a listenable copy of the album (as my album was rendered unlistenable owing to the scratches), and preferably a cd. (I was–and am, still–surprised that a cd was never mastered for this album.) Couldn’t get a cd, and ebay has had only 2 copies of the record for sale in the last year. I was outbid on both of them. Then I found this website and your zip file. I’ve just now burned a cd and am on top of the world. Again. Thanks so very much for your kindness in posting this. You have made my day, my Christmas, and many Christmases to come.

  3. 3

    Thank you so much … I’ve got the old scratched record from my childhood and have been looking for a good copy of this for literally years!

  4. 4
    alleee Says:

    Thank you for the kind comments. Just for that, my link is updated with a MUCH cleaner copy of the album. Enjoy!

  5. 5
    Steve Says:

    This is the best x-mas album ever! I loved listening to this when I was younger. Luckily my mom gave me this album (she knew I loved it) one x-mas many years ago. The record is still in pretty good shape. I was wondering on the download – is there a song missing? When I downloaded it I didn’t seem to find the very first song on the album “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”. Anyway, this album should be put out in a CD version.

  6. 6
    alleee Says:

    I don’t know–I looked at the zip, and it all seems to be there. Maybe try downloading again?

  7. 7
    terry butler Says:

    Whoa!!! Fantastic! My mom, brothers and sister are all rejoicing! We love this album and have been scouring to find it for a long time!
    Terry Butler

  8. 8
    Paul Says:

    I loved this album as a kid, and couldn’t believe a CD of it wasn’t available in the US. But believe it or not, a bona-fide CD of this album IS available…in the Netherlands, of all places. It cost me a pretty penny to buy it and ship it here, but it was worth it. No more scratches! The CD goes by a different, odd title: “Christmas with Andy Williams and The Williams Brothers: Andy and His 3 Brothers Sing Seriously Tight Vocal Harmonies”.

  9. 9
    Donna Says:

    I can’t tell you how happy this makes me! I grew up listening to this album and love it so much, as does my whole family. My mother still has the ancient vinyl and while I was able to transfer it to CD a few years ago it still has the pops and hisses that the vinyl has.

    I’m so thrilled to be able to offer her a cleaner version — thank you so very, very much!
    🙂

  10. 10
    Bill Dragoo Says:

    I was turned on to this from my best friends Terry Butler and although I’m getting this just after Christmas this year , I absolutely love this, I remember some of the tunes but never heard all of it and so wonderfully clear!! Thanks for this!!

  11. 11
    Kim Says:

    I found your site today doing some searches about Andy Williams and the Williams Brothers after viewing a recording of one of the PBS shows about his annual Christmas shows. After a little more searching, I found Andy’s home site and it looks like he’s offering this album for sale on his site.

    Hope this helps. The price is a tad high, but not really when you consider it’s OOP now. I also tried finding something on eBay and no luck.

  12. 12
    Nancee Paule Says:

    I had this album when I was in Junior High School. I had it on my turntable and left to go shopping. When I returned I found my room had started on fire!!!! Alas, I had a candle making kit….. Oh well, I lost the album, melted on the turntable. It has haunted me for well over 37 years. My sister made an effort to replace it with a CD, but I knew it wasn’t the same. I never knew why it was so hard to find. I am attempting to download it from this web site. I hope it works. That’s a very long time to wait to replace a lost “treasure”.

  13. 13
    Gabriel Says:

    Thank you for making this recording available on your website. However, the same album of Andy and his brothers was released on CD in 2001 called “HOLIDAY MAGIC WITH ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS”. It was released by Definitive Records. It is the exact album you have on your site with the exception of an additional bonus song of Andy singing “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”. The cover artwork is also different. I purchased my copy at FYE. I’m sure anyone who is interested can order a copy from FYE or any other major record outlet. The CD number is 60039.

  14. 14
    Gabriel Says:

    After submitting my comment, I realized I had omitted another bonus song on ‘HOLIDAY MAGIC WITH ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS”. Andy also sings “Christmas Is A Feeling In Your Heart”. So this CD has two additional bonus songs performed by Andy that were not on the original album “The Williams Brothers Christmas Album”. I purchased my copy in 2001, the year it was released. I’m sure it’s still available. Enjoy!

  15. 15
    Sheldon Tucker Says:

    I have a copy of this on CD from the Andy Williams Theatre in Branson, Mo.
    They are available at a great price there.
    Just contact the Moon River Theatre 2500 W Highway 76 Branson, MO 65616

  16. 16
    Bob Says:

    You are awesome! I loved this album and was so happy when I thought I bought a copy…. but it was a remix on Columbia records, and they totally ruined it! The long medley was broken up into two cuts, and not all the songs survived. Your fav.. Sleep Well Little Children… was lost! I am so grateful you made this available. Thanks!

  17. 17
    janet Says:

    hey Bob-where did you get that cd from columbia? that’s the one i am looking for. i grew up with that version and am just as passionate about the remix as everyone seems to be about this version.

  18. 18
    mavis Says:

    Are the William’s brothers still alive?

  19. 20
    Ardys Says:

    Wow … memories of my childhood are flashing before my eyes! This is so great – I’ve been smiling all morning! Thanks!

    If I may also ask …. I’ve been looking (for years!) for a copy of the “Christmas with Andy Williams and the Williams Brothers” album. I don’t suppose you have that as well? It’s possible that many of the songs might be the same but that is the recording I had as a child and is the one that will make my holiday’s complete!

  20. 21
    alleee Says:

    Well, I’ve had it before–but not right now. I think you can find it on cd–if not, ebay has it right now.

  21. 22
    Steve Says:

    To Ardys: the songs found on Christmas with Andy Williams and the Williams Brothers are slightly edited or rearranged and taken from the Williams Brothers Christmas record.

    To alleee: Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, and a very BIG THANK YOU so much for sharing this record!!! My dad has the Christmas with Andy Williams and The Williams Brothers record and I’ve always wanted to hear the rest of the Williams Brothers Christmas lp. You’ve made my life much brighter this Christmas. I cannot thank you enough. God bless you! My dad will absolutely LOVE this!!! Do you know where I can find the Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians Christmas lp? There are a few of those tracks on a compilation lp entitled Christmas with Nat King Cole/Fred Waring which my dad has as well. Again, thank you so very very much!!!🙂

  22. 23
    alleee Says:

    You can get the record of the Meaning of Christmas from amazon, I think.
    We had that Fred Waring/Nat King Cole record, too.

  23. 24
    Ann Says:

    My mother still has a copy of this album– in reasonably good condition– but she lives half a continent away and is electronically challenged. I taped her copy, 3o years ago, while home for my freshman Thanksgiving. Last night, my husband and I spent an hour unsuccessfully looking for that tape, found the scratchier copy my father made about ten years ago, and discovered that my tape deck didn’t work anyway. I’ve been contemplating decorating the tree without my favorite soundtrack for the first time. No doubt, the ornaments would have been hung with less enthusiasm. Now I can transfer to CD and “hang away.” Thank you for posting this!

  24. 25
    Lawre Says:

    This record played at my house every holiday season as far back as I can remember. As my siblings and I got into our teens and became far too cool for such stuff, we made fun of our mother each time she would play it. Her vinyl copy was so wrecked that you couldn’t play the thing without putting a couple of coins on the tone arm so it was heavy enough to get through the scratches. Even then there was a skip at the beginning of “Hark” which wouldn’t be surmounted and if you weren’t near the turntable to fix it quickly you’d be listening to, “Hark the herald ang/erald ang/erald ang/erald” until you could get to it and push it through. Having gotten through the coolness of our teens, we all find ourselves in agreement that this is the best Christmas album of all. I think my mother takes a great deal of pleasure in listening to this with her children.
    I’ve been seeking and not finding for a good many years and am sincerely grateful to you for getting us back to a place where we can hear it without stacking coins on it. Cheers!

  25. 26
    Elinor Rose Says:

    This is wonderful! I spent many a holiday hour as a child in the 60’s listening to Andy Williams and others on my mother’s fine wooden Magnavox stereo console. The radio and turntable still work! My 87 year old dad still has it in his home because he could not bear to part with it.

    My 15 year old son just burnt this file onto a CD for me, placed it in my CD player, and cranked it up to eleven. Andy and his brothers sound better at a lower volume, and once I turned them down, the cat re-emerged from under the bed and we are chillin’ out to the smooth sounds of a Williams Family Christmas.

    Thank you for an unexpected Christmas present! It will be enjoyed for years to come.

  26. 27
    Jerry Plagge, Jr. Says:

    Thanks a bunch. I’m a bit young to remember this at my house, but we saw the one hour special on PBS twice this past few weeks and couldn’t turn it off. The second time my mom was over and she really enjoyed it also. How about those lovely all-green and all-red outfits. Fabulous!

    I love having all the brothers together instead of just Andy himself (but I’m going to get one of his solo works too).

  27. 28
    Noreen Says:

    I sent an email to the Andy Williams official site and asked about the CD. I received an email back that they did have a few for sale. I ordered one and got it in the mail yesterday! I’m listening to it now! It is amazing!!

  28. 29
    Vicki Says:

    This album has been my favorite since I was a child. But like most of my old albums they were put to rest or lost when the turn tables were no longer made. I have been looking for a CD of this album but with no luck. I would love to know if anyone has this in a CD that they could make for me or have one that I could buy.. Thank you…Vicki C

  29. 30
    alleee Says:

    You can buy Holiday Magic with Andy Williams and the Williams Brothers from Amazon.com . See the site if you think it’s the same thing. It might be:

    http://www.amazon.com/Holiday-Magic-Andy-Williams-Brothers/dp/B0000DESIC

  30. 31

    Dear Mondo Diablo, I couldn’t agree with you more. This is my all time favorite Christmas album too. I have been caring for my parent’s vinyl copy of this incredible Williams Brothers Christmas LP for many years now. Listening to your downloads, finally after all these years, actually put a tear in my eye, bringing me back to my Christmas youth. It is filled with beautiful vocal harmonies that continue to give goosebumps throughout Sides A and B, reminding me that The Beatles were not my only “harmony” influences for my music career. It is a priceless recording of Christmas Joy, and your description above says it all. Thank you so much for posting you pristine stereo download. Merry Christmas.

  31. 32
    Wendy Helmers Says:

    I download the zip file but there’s only 7 songs in there and my fav “To Santa Claus’ House We Go” isn’t one of them. I’m using Windows Vista. Help!

  32. 33
    alleee Says:

    Wendy,

    It’s been awhile since you’ve listened to this record I see!

    Santa Claus’ House is in the middle of the track “medley” at about 7:44. Medley is about 20 min long. I’m sure when you listen you’ll remember!

  33. 34
    Jesse Says:

    I’m a bit of a late comer to this post, but thanks for sharing this album. I’m only 35 now, but still grew up listening to a similar LP of my parents in the late 70’s and early 80’s. Love it! Wish more of this kind of stuff was still around.

  34. 35
    Jan Says:

    This album was absolutely in our home and one of my mother’s very favorites. I remember it vividly from my childhood and am so happy to have found it here. We faithfully watched the Andy Williams Christmas special every year. Just beautiful! Thank you so much for posting this. I can’t wait to share it with our children.

  35. 36
    Laurie Says:

    For years I have tried to find these songs. I remember listening to it throughout our house and even in my own room every Christmas. For the past 16 years I have told my husband and about this and now I can finally share this great music with him and our three children. Thanks for providing us with the opportunity to relive this great Christmas memory.

  36. 37
    Bill Says:

    “The Williams Brothers Christmas Album” first came out in Nov. 1970 as Barnaby Z-30095. It had 6 Songs on Side One and a 2nd Side-Long MEDLEY of 16 Songs (and a reprise) on Side Two.

    Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas/Kay Thompson’s Jingle Bells/The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On an Open Fire)/I’ll Be Home For Christmas/The Holiday Season/White Chritmas/MEDLEY: Caroling, Caroling; O Little Town Of Bethlehem; Away In A Manger; It Came Upon the Midnight Clear; God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen; Good King Wenceslas; Joy To the World; Sleep Well Little Children; Deck the Hall; To Santa Claus House We Go; It’s Christmas Time, Carol Number Twelve; Hark! The Herald Angels Sing; The First Noel; O Come, All Ye Faithful; Silent Night, Holy Night; Reprise: Caroling, Caroling.

    In 1971 an altered REissue ( with different Cover Photo and different/altered songs ) came out on Barnaby/Columbia Special Products # C-10105 as: “Christmas with Andy Williams & The Williams Brothers”. It contained 10 Songs, alternating between Andy Williams & The Williams Brothers, including a shorter broken up version of the 1970 MEDLEY, deleting the 4 songs: “Caroling, Caroling”, “Sleep Well Little Children”, “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear” and It’s Christmas Time”.

    It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year(Andy)/Kay Thompson’s Jingle Bells(Brothers)/A Song For The Christmas Tree (The Twelve Days Of Christmas)(Andy)/The Holiday Season(Brothers)/The First Noel(Andy)/Silent Night, Holy Night(Andy)/MEDLEY(Brothers): Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem-Joy To The World/Away In A Manger/MEDLEY(Brothers): Deck The Halls (With Boughs of Holly); To Santa Claus’ House We Go; God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen; Good King Wenceslas; Hark! The Herald Angels Sing; O Come All Ye Faithful/O Holy Night! (Cantique de Noel)(Andy)

    The 2001 CD issue on Definitive Records label contains these 8 Songs and 1 MEDLEY:

    1. THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE YEAR – ANDY WILLIAMS
    2. HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    3. I’LL BE HOME FOR CHRISTMAS – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    4. THE CHRISTMAS SONG (CHESTNUTS ROASTING) – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    5. WHITE CHRISTMAS – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    6. CHRISTMAS IS A FEELING IN YOUR HEART – ANDY WILLIAMS
    7. THE HOLIDAY SEASON – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    8. JINGLE BELLS – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS
    9. MEDLEY: CAROLING, CAROLING; O LITTLE TOWN OF BETHLEHEM; AWAY IN A MANGER; IT CAME UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR; GOD REST YE MERRY GENTLEMEN; GOOD KING WENCESLAS; JOY TO THE WORLD; SLEEP WELL LITTLE CHILDREN; DECK THE HALLS; TO SANTA CLAUS’ HOUSE WE GO; IT’S CHRISTMAS TIME; CAROL NUMBER TWELVE; HARK! THE HERALD ANGELS SING; THE FIRST NOEL; O COME ALL YE FAITHFUL; SILENT NIGHT, HOLY NIGHT; REPRISE: CAROLING CAROLING – ANDY WILLIAMS & THE WILLIAMS BROTHERS

    There are NO straight legitimate U.S. CD issues of the 1970 or 1971 Barnaby albums.

  37. 38
    Lelia Says:

    This is DH’s fav Christmas album & I cannot thank you enough for sharing!

  38. 39
    Frank Jellison Says:

    I bought the original album in 1970 after hearing the carol medley on Julius La Rosa’ radio program on station WNEW. I stil have that record have have taken god care of it. 20+ years later I found a very clean used record in a in Modesto CA.

    Finally I bought the Definitive CD online when it was first released.

    This is still one of the finest Christmas albums ever made

  39. 40
    Bill Says:

    Wow. As kids we listened to this until the vinyl disolved practically. This was staple in our family and we had our own family singing group until my voice changed🙂 I remember it got a couple major scratches on it so, for years, we learned and sang the scratches without missing a beat.

    Thanks a lot for posting this…

  40. 41
    Stu Says:

    Thank you so much. I have a bunch of these songs on a True Value Hardware Stores album which mixes stuff from Andy’s big Xmas album and this one, but I didn’t know that the full Williams Brothers stuff existed! I always loved “Jingle Bells” as it sounded to me like “Laugh-In” music! Bless you for posting this.

  41. 42
    Corinne Says:

    Wow – Since we are having a very heavy snowfall in Northern Alberta today, I am feeling “Christmasy” so I started looking for some Christmas titles to play online and found this treasure to listen to. Going back, it was 1970 or 71 that I actually bought this album for my parents as a Christmas gift. Someone told me it was a “dumb” gift and I reluctantly kept it for myself. The best “dumb” gift I ever bought! So many wonderful Christmas memories.
    2nd most favourite for me would be the Osmonds Christmas Album. Has some of the same songs, ie. Kay Thompson’s Jingle Bells.

    Thank you so much for sharing this online, and the wonderful memories that come along with the music.

  42. 43
    Linda Says:

    What a wonderful surprise to find that so many other people treasure this album the way I do! I have the original album and have listened to it every year at Christmas time. I was looking for a CD online when I found this thread. I can’t thank you enough for making a zip file available. Now I know I’ll be able to listen to it for many more years to come! Thank you and Merry Christmas 2010!

  43. 44
    Antoine Says:

    This is just incredible. I have been searching for this for at least 10 years. I had actually found the CD from a small little company in montreal canada and bought it and i never got anything.

    Thgank you so much for this! This album means christmans to me more than any other piece of music.

    Thank god for the internet and for people like you!

    Merry Christmas!

  44. 45
    Rob Roy Says:

    Thanks so much for this unexpected Christmas gift! My earliest holiday memories have always been associated with this album and the Andy williams one from 1969. We had both albums growing up and literally wore them out. We had lost the cover of the Williams Brother one decades ago and had apparently stuck it inside another lp cover and was not found again till just a few years ago. It’s discovery sparked my quest to find it on cd. After a long search, I did manage to find the reissue cd mentioned above and purchased it but it was a bit different from the original. I still loved it but made the mistake of letting one of my brothers borrow it a while ago and I never got it back. I appreciate being able to add it back into my library. I hope others can enjoy the amazing harmonies of such a talented family. Have a great holiday!

  45. 46
    kc conrad Says:

    christmas is so much more enjoyable when i play the andy williams christmas shows on my dvd——————i am immediately thrown back into a time of nostalgia and happy memories.

  46. 47
    kc conrad Says:

    christmas is always so much more enjoyable when i have the andy williams christmas shows on my dvd in december. they always bring back nostalgia and happy memories.

  47. 48
    Susan Lloyd Says:

    I’ve been looking for the Williams Brothers Christmas music forever!! I’ve loved Andy Williams all my life, and 10 years ago found his Christmas Video (a combination of his t.v. shows on it. I don’t know if an album was ever made of Andy with the Williams brothers singing on the t.v. show (I Love the Winter Weather/ Winter Wonderland)but it is a fabulous clip from the Christmas Video! Thanks for offering the public voices from heaven, I will cherish forever. This is what you call REAL MUSIC…..

  48. 49
    Vicki Says:

    Is it possible to download this to iTunes? Vicki

  49. 50
    alleee Says:

    I’m sorry, Vicki, but I don’t know. I guess you could find software to convert the mp3 to m4a, or whatever file type i-tunes uses. I personally do not use i-tunes. Does anyone know if a standard mp3 can go on an ipod? I like to use other devices because I try and avoid i-tines whenever possible–it’s way to heavy on the old cpu.

  50. 51
    Jean Gilliland Says:

    Thank you so much for the zip file! I’ve been thinking of Andy since his cancer diagnosis, remembering how much I looked forward to his Christmas specials as a child. I especially remember how much I loved listening to Andy sing with his brothers, not only because of their tight harmonies but because of the joy in their voices as they sat and sang together.

    I’m sure you know this by now, but oldest brother Bob passed away in 2003. I only learned of his passing recently, and I admit it broke my heart a little.

  51. 52
    Jean Gilliland Says:

    I want to add that I found what i think is the original LP on the Amazon marketplace; I bought it immediately, and I don’t even own a turntable/phonograph on which to play it! It hasn’t yet arrived, but I’m really looking forward to actually holding it in my hands.

  52. 53
    alleee Says:

    Jean–I didn’t know about Bob. Thank you for passing along the information.

  53. 54
    Jean Gilliland Says:

    The Williams Bros. Christmas LP I found on Amazon’s Marketplace is, indeed, an original pressing (Barnaby Z 30095). It is actually a promotional copy, not intended for sale, and I’m currently shopping for a quality turntable/CD recorder on which to play it ( I’ve wanted one for awhile anyway). I paid just over $25 for the LP, which I thought was a steal. The disc itself looks to be in very good condition (and the cover is gorgeous), so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the sound quality is just as good.

    There’s a nice montage of photoraphs of the brothers through the years on the back cover, including one of Andy and Dick sitting on their grandfather’s lap in 1932. Also, according to the cover notes, Dick did the vocal arrangements for the songs on side 1 (Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, Kay Thompson’s Jingle Bells, The Christmas Song, I’ll Be Home for Christmas, The Holiday Season, White Christmas).

    I knew about about Bob’s passing only because I recently read it in Andy’s memoir. He shares a funny, sweet story about the last time the four brothers were all together, just a few months before Bob died.

  54. 55
    Jessica Says:

    Thank you!!!!!! My husband has been searching for this album, and “The Holiday Season” song in particular, for years!!

  55. 56
    alleee Says:

    You’re very welcome, and thumbs up for the Bluestockings!

  56. 57
    Bill Says:

    This was released as a CD from Disky Records in Holland, in 1999 (I think).
    I just picked up a copy at Big Lot’s 11-27-11. for $4 bucks.
    Nice , I guessed that it must have been from the late 1960’s, judging from the arrangements and the stereo sound mix.
    I haven’t heard this Lp before last night.

  57. OMGOSH! Thank you for a late Christmas gift! I have searched for this album forever & you are now my new best friend.

    Bless you!

  58. 59
    Brian Orser in Canada Says:

    First off … THANK YOU ! for keeping that link alive !! 4 years later and the link still works ! ( it’s Dec 2011 ). It is indeed a Christmas miracle.

    Wow, been looking for this album for years and only came across your blog tonight ! I was looking for “Andy Williams PBS” and came across this – wow ! I cannot even imagine that 4 years later the link to the album is still active ! oh how lucky are we ! Thank you very much and Merry Christmas and all the best for 2012 !! Amazing amazing find !

    A huge fan in Canada.

  59. 60
    Brian Gillis Says:

    This is just SO wonderful! I was a professional musician and arranger for more than 30 years and it is my opinion that The Williams Brothers are the tightest, cleanest and BEST vocal group in recorded history. Their blend can not be matched. The Wilson brothers PALE on comparison and they themselves were great.

    It is a real shame there are no other albums featuring all 4 brothers. They had a sound unlike any other and were more than a match for ANY of the competition. And this album is my absolute FAVORITE Christmas album in existence. It simple can not be beat!

    THANKS So VERY VERY MUCH !!!!!

  60. 61
    Frank Sims Says:

    Wow! What a pathetic jackass, bringing political and religious viewpoints on to this site and diguising all under the mouring of Andy William’s death. I’m sure he would be embarrassed to have you as a fan.

  61. 62
    alleee Says:

    I’m sorry you feel that way. However, this blog is not about Andy Williams. Perhaps you might want to poke around the blog a bit and find out what it is about. Fact is, I brought Andy Williams’ album into a blog about those religious and political viewpoints, because I love the album.

    I hope you enjoy the free music I gave you.

  62. 63
    JW Says:

    Alleee –Thank you for this gift!!! p.s. i don’t think you’re a jack ass. I think you are a well grounded thoughtful person.

  63. 64
    Ken Says:

    AMAZING to find this after years of looking. Thank you so much for sharing this. Here’s our story: my wife’s dad worked with Kay Thompson, he always admired her and her work with the William’s Brothers. My wife grew up loving this fantastic album and all the music the Williams Brothers performed. and it is without a doubt our family’s most favorite of all the HUGE collection of Christmas music we have. We know the words and harmonies to every song! It IS totally singable! The Christmas Album was played over and over and over again on her Cinderalla Victrola record player until she needed two or three or four quarters to weigh the needle down so it wouldn’t skip out of the grooves! We digitized the songs complete with the scratching, which is reason enough to treasure. Who’d ‘a thought we’d feel nostalgic about record scratches!!? But we have been looking for a “clean” version forever! SO to add my name of admirers to your list is a pleasure. Thanks again!

  64. 65
    Davie Says:

    Hi there, Thanks for posting this !

    One question, I just looked at the songs included. There are only 7 songs. If you look at the included album art, there are a lot more songs on that album. Is there a second zip file I’m missing ? From what I can gather, all of Side 1 is there, and 1 song from Side B is included ( the medley ). So many others not there😦 Some of those were performed on the Andy Willliams Christmas special they air on PBS each year.

    Thanks for your great work !

  65. 66
    alleee Says:

    Oh, yes, everything is there. As you can see from the back side artwork, “Medley” is the entire second side of the album. All the songs listed are included in the medley, which is a full 14 and a half minutes long. You see how, in side A, each song has a length listed, but on side B, only the word “medley” has a time listed on there?

    It’s OK–I also worried about this, too. At first. But I know this album like the back of my hand. All the stuff is there.🙂

  66. 67
    Davie Says:

    Hi alleee, wow, super fast reply, I appreciate that ! Thanks for clearing that up for me. I have to be honest and say I hadn’t listened to all the tracks, oops ! Thanks for the clarifying that for me. Much appreciated. So glad the album is still there too ! A true treasure. Thanks again !
    Davie.

  67. 68
    alleee Says:

    Hey, no problem! I’m glad you like the album!

  68. 69
    Tom Hite Says:

    Wonderful harmonies and out of print! You can’t buy this album, I tried on Amazon. But it isn’t available. And I don’t have a record player anyway. The Williams Brothers are the best.

  69. 70
    Gary Says:

    I’m so embarassed! I’ve been a huge Mondo Diablo fan, since the first episode but, somehow, managed to miss this! I’ve got it on my flash drive now and can’t wait to get home from work and unzip it.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

